WTFriday! Tahini

Posted on by 0 comment

 

tahini plastic tahini glass tahini tin

Let’s talk about tahini! You will find tahini to be a common item in vegan recipes, especially in recipes based in Middle Eastern cuisine.

Tahini is essentially a paste made by grinding up sesame seeds that have been roasted, athough you can also find raw tahini. It can have a bit of bitter taste if eaten on it’s own so it’s usually combined with garlic, lemon and salt. It can be used in a multitude of ways from sandwiches to soups. Tahini is a bit of secret powerhouse packed with all kinds of essential vitamins.

Tahini can be found in grocery stores in the condiment or peanut butter aisle. It is packed in tin cans  or glass jars. The consistency is much like a natural peanut butter where the oil and butter tend to separate. Be sure to mix it well before each use. Tahini is best kept in tightly sealed in the refrigerator.

Use one of these great ideas to incorporate tahini into your next dish!

Enjoy!

What’s the deal with honey?

Posted on by 0 comment

You might hear the term “beegan” from time to time. That term refers to someone who is vegan but doesn’t abstain from the use of honey. Some vegans don’t see anything wrong with the use of honey as long as it comes from a local beekeeper instead of a commercial bee farm (yeah, those exist!). Furthermore, with the phenomenon of Colony Collapse Disorder on the rise, others feel that the increased demand of local honey will help thwart the die off of honeybees that we are currently seeing. People have even started adding beehives to their own gardens to help the wild honey bees and will often use the honey made in these hives.

And, then there is the other side of the argument. Honey is something that is made by an animal and, therefore, should not be used or consumed by humans. While honey can be viewed as a simple byproduct of a honey bee’s hard work, honey is much more than that. Honey is food for the bees so who are we to take it from them, especially after they’ve worked so hard to make it? This article, 3 Reasons Not To Eat Honey, outlines the many issues that surround our current bee population and why taking honey from is harmful to them.

The decision to use honey or not is one that each individual must make on their own. Maybe you decide to keep a beehive in your garden, purchase local honey from a bee keeper or decide that honey is not for you anymore. Either way, the fact that you are thinking about this and making a conscience decision about it is a step in the right direction.

bees

 

 

 

 

 

Category: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

WTFriday!?

Posted on by 0 comment

So, you’ve done your homework and you’re ready to start cooking vegan style! You read through your new dandy recipes and you start seeing ingredients you’ve NEVER heard of before. Nutritional Yeast. Tamari. Black Salt. Tempeh. What is this stuff!? Well, that’s what WTFriday’s are for. Check back here every Friday for a quick tutorial on some of the common ingredients you’ve never heard of. I’ll highlight what they are all about, where to find them and what to do with them to help you create your delicious dishes!

So you’ve decided to go vegan…now what?

Posted on by 0 comment

Congratulations on taking the first step to becoming vegan. Committing to a compassionate lifestyle is exciting and overwhelming all at the same time! I hope that this blog will help make your transition easier by sharing new product information, recipes, travel information and inspiration as you forge ahead in your new lifestyle. It’s quite the journey but it’s so rewarding!

Enjoy your new veggie loving life!