WTFriday!?-Tamari

Posted on by 0 comment

I keep a well stocked cabinet with several bottles of this on hand at any given moment. I think this is one of the most used items in my kitchen. But what is it!?

Tamari is very similar to soy sauce. It is made from fermented soy beans, just like regular soy sauce, but it contains very little to no wheat. This produces a darker, slightly thicker sauce. I find the flavor to be much less salty that regular soy sauce. And, because of this, it is very versatile in cooking-I even have a challah bread recipe that calls for tamari!

Gluten Free Tamari is readily available and is a great soy sauce substitute for people that must avoid gluten. My favorite brand of tamari is San-J which I buy at my local Sprouts Farmers Market.

tamari

So, swap out regular soy sauce for tamari sauce in your next recipe! It might just be your new favorite find!

Category: WTFriday!? | Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>